Get Dressed To This: Who Wears the Pants?

10 Jul

moi?

Most of the fashion features I have here just-so-happen to included dresses. Maybe it’s because I’m a dress girl? Or maybe it’s simply because on the female form, dresses remain the go-to item for most dance outings. In recognition of my bias, I’ve decided to switch it up a bit this week.

1. I normally post Get Dressed To This pieces as the weekend nears, but considering I am in Rio (where the “weekend” can start as early as Tuesday, much like in NYC these days too), I am going to post accordingly.

2. I’m going to do a feature with pants!

Ok, beyond that, this week’s GDTT remains the same. outfit + mix = happy times

I decided to explore Desigual’s site for some inspiration. The Spanish brand is famous for making paint-splashed, psychedelic-printed pieces, something I’ve seen throughout the Iberian Peninsula (Spain and Portugal, I’m looking at you!) all the way to Brazil. Street vendors here sell a ton of dresses with similar prints. Many ateliers are purveyors of patchworked skirts. And the “Calca Saruel” (drop-crotch pants) remains a popular piece here. So I thought in today’s edition of GDTT, I’ve pay an homage to the multinational magic of Iberian mix-match style with a splash of Desigual.

As far as the music goes, I’ve got a live set from Mercury, one of the best house DJs in the game, during a gig at one of my favorite clubs in Lisbon, Lux. It’s all come full circle, folks. House music from Switzerland taking place in a club in Portugal which is home to the language of Brazil where a style is circulating quite similar to Desigual, a clothing store from Spain. The world is a very small place. I hope you have a chance to skip (or dance!) around it now as you Get Dressed To This:

Mercury – Mix for Lux (Lisboa)

click to stream / download (right click + save as)

Sament Dress, Desigual, £79.00 GBP

back / front

+

Riplay Women’s Mica-05 Wedge Sandal (in hot pink, listed as “red”), Endless.com, $67.99 USD

or

Marc by Marc Jacobs Women’s 625140/12 Flat (in green), Endless, $140 USD

 +

vintage white leather clutch, Etsy, $16 USD

+

Polished Planes Earrings (in blue), Anthropologie, $32

 OR

Empire Top, Desigual, £53.10

+

black woven tulip faux leather waistband detail pants, Mark & James by Badgley Mischka, Bluefly, $79.99 USD

or

A Wear Skinny Jean (in cobalt blue), ASOS, $58 USD

 

+

Melissa Platform Sandal, YOOX, $69 USD

or

 Day and Nightlife Flat (in yellow), ModCloth, $29.99 USD

– Retail DJ

Leave a Reply

