I Love Mondays: Mute

9 Jul

Lazaro Casanova

I am on my way to Rio’s Biblioteca Nacional soon for a long day of conducting thesis research, stuff you all don’t care about šŸ™‚ While I am true nerd and love history and the like, the fact that I have to work there sans music is truly torturous. Music helps me concentrate. Music helps my brain stay awake. Music inspires me. Without music, I am metaphorically braindead. The elevator doesn’t go all the way to the top, if you get me.

So what I’ve been doing lately is listening to a great mix before I go to bed and as I walk to the library in hopes of getting it stuck in my head for the duration of the day. Luckily, it usually works. At the end of last week, I had chosen some old mixes by Miami-based DJ Lazaro Casanova, and today he’s up to bat again. Though this mix isn’t exactly “new,” at least not in terms of the electronic music world, it is definitely worth a listen. It opens with a sick remix of Azari & III’s “Reckless With You Love,” a song I never tire of. It continues with a mix of classic hard house tracks remixed to a disco-infused smoothness. It’s a mix that’s perfect for a Monday because it gives you just a touch of energy, but not too much. It’s Monday, afterall. And sometimes, you’ve gotta take the mellow route.

Lazaro Casanova – Live @ 20 Years of Murk – Electric Pickle – 2.19.2012

– Retail DJ

Leave a Reply

