Now Playing: Volume 1

23 Feb

As I mentioned previously, I planned on featuring a few new regular posts on the page. This is one of them. Welcome to Now Playing. In Now Playing, I (or friends and special guest artists) will leave a few tracks, what they are listening to at the moment that are worth checking out.

This is what I have on heavy rotation this week, thanks to the folks at Discobelle and Too Many Sebastians:

1. Cecile & Venice – Rimmel (click here to dl)

This was featured in the January Aeroplane monthly mix. I fell in love. Now I can’t.stop.listening.to.it. It’s groovy, disco-y, and will make you dance even when you don’t feel like it. Turns out they are managed by Gomma, which now makes sense . . . because Gomma is a label that seems as if it is allergic to putting out anything but awesome music.

video: This video features clips from an old Czech New Wave film . . . random, though typical Gomma (see: video for “Rat Race” by Munk)

2. Matt Van Schie – Saturday Night (G.L.O.V.E.S. Remix) (click here to dl)

At parts, this song reminds me of music from Daft Punk’s Discovery. If you know that album well, you’ll know what I am talking about when you hear the track.

3. Polargeist – Home from the Can (Tensnake Remix) (click here to dl)

Oldschool house feel mixed with a little chill. Best for motivating you as you go out or while having drinks. It’s danceable, but only in that “I’m a model, I do not sweat” kind of way. 🙂

4. Savage Snobs – GLOBAL  (click below to listen/dl)
GLOBAL by Savage Snobs

Luuurv this song. It’s cute, ’nuff said. It’s a hip hop song in the vein of the Cool Kids (of “Black Mags” and 90s revival style fame) and N.E.R.D.

5. Ali Love – Love Harder (Mighty Mouse Remix) (click here to dl)

Ali Love, who dropped Diminishing Returns, has yet another awesome song out: Love Harder. This track was also featured in Aeroplane’s January mix, and thank goodness for it. This track is mellow, yet danceable, sexy yet fun, and makes you feel like  you could stop traffic.

6. Chaos dans le CBD – Cheese’s Christ (original mix) (click here to dl)

Heavy groove track. It starts off slow, but then speeds up and gets a little more depth. Reminds me of something I’d probably have heard in that old store Lounge on Broadway (which was one of the coolest stores ever, actually) that is now a Mango or a Victoria’s Secret or some major.corporate.label.store at which I never shop, so I can’t remember its name. There is a part in this song in which there is so much of a “shhh” sound, I initially thought my furnace was coming on or someone was entering my room with a smoke machine. Yet I like it.

7. Delphic – Halcyon (L-Vis 1990 Remix) (click here to dl)

I like this song primarily because it starts off sounding like some typical British pop joint, but then L-Vis 1990 just…wrecks it. It turns into something else entirely, and I mean that in a good way! He makes it sound much darker and aggressive, which I know I sometimes need when I am walking around in the city or on the train and need a little boost of toughness. But then he brings back the sad, sentimental voice of the artist right when you least expect it. And, somehow, it just works.

8. Metronomy – Trick or Treatz (click here to dl)

This song has been stuck in my head for the longest. It’s an old-ish Metronomy song that came out before they straight blew up in the States, but it had been heavily sampled enough for people to be familiar with it if they were into electronica.

– Retail DJ

Leave a Reply

