I <3 Mondays: Voltei de Vaycay

16 Feb

Just in case you were curious, there was no I ❤ Mondays post yesterday because I was off for Presidents’ Day! Yay for holidays. I take them far more seriously these days, though I still somehow end up working on something else. As of late, that been my baby, my side interest, my special project: Retail DJ. Over the weekend, I had the opportunity to interview Felix Flores, a very talented artist who expresses himself in both his music and his style. I emailed several other designers and DJs who will be interviewed for the site soon. I ordered custom business cards. I put the word out for interviewees for the Summer of 2010 I answered the question, “What Is Retail DJ?”

All in all, this wasn’t exactly a holiday. But I spent my time “off” doing something I love. In just a month and a half, Retail DJ has grown considerably as a result of a lot of hard work on my end and the tremendous support of friends, fans, style saavy consumers, creators, and music lovers. Every time I think about the possibility of someone clicking a link, listening to a mix, or viewing a photo on this site, I become overcome with joy from its potential. That’s what Retail DJ is all about: the mutual exchange of exposure and gaining knowlege in the realm of fashion and music. With each view, someone out there is learning something, and with each post I put up and extremely talented person I interview, so am I.

Today’s I ❤ Mondays Tuesday post, though, is for those who DO actually take vacation. As an homage to Carnaval season, Brazilian-born (Sao Paulo represent!) DJ Joyce Muniz (the musical darling of Man Recordings, a record label based in Germany that supports an amazing set of Brazilian DJs including Edu K) has created a mix of samba, kuduru (Luso-African music that combines traditional sounds with electronic beats), funk carioca (known in the States as “baile funk”), house, and a ton of tracks that will make returning from your mini-vaycay a lot easier.

May this mix take you to a place where sequins, feathers, and glitter mean far more than an Elton John performance at the Grammy’s. Seja bem-vindo ao Brasil!

Joyce Muniz – Carnival 2010 Mix for Discobelle (play/dl)

tracklist is available in the Music Archive

 

*Joyce Muniz presently lives in Austria, but will be in NYC at Le Poisson Rouge on May 14th! Ebaaa!!! More on this as the date approaches.

– Retail DJ

Leave a Reply

